FAQ

What does WE AID do? We enable engagement

WE AID offers a professional, non-profit organizational structure on a temporary basis and thus enables private initiatives to implement their charitable commitment within a few days.
In humanitarian crises, whether in wars, floods, or famines, it is a matter of spontaneous and rapid aid that should immediately reach those affected. WE AID makes it possible for people and companies who want to get socially involved in acute crisis situations, such as currently the war in Ukraine, to do just that: We offer a legally secure framework to get started immediately.

WE AID offers newly founded initiatives the entire non-profit structure they need to collect donations and spend money, to organize bookkeeping and account management, and to meet the requirements of the tax office in the process. And we offer our experience and network.

If you have little or no experience with non-profit structures, you will quickly realize that you can't set them up overnight, but that it takes time and expertise. WE AID has already created the necessary structure and makes it available at short notice.

Because that is our mission: WE AID enables engagement that would possibly not take the place for a lack of suitable structures.

With WE AID, we ourselves are a young non-profit organization, founded when PHINEO began its activities in Ukraine. We are building our current structures according to your needs, and at the same time we can draw on PHINEO's experience and network.

Why wouldn't I rather start a nonprofit myself? Because it is faster and easier with WE AID

Those who want to get involved in the face of crises want to start immediately, want to take advantage of the spontaneous willingness to help that many people then show, and want to get aid quickly to where it is urgently needed. WE AID makes exactly that possible.

WE AID is intended as a bridge structure for initiatives - for committed people who have little or no experience with charitable structures, who do not want to set them up themselves, or who think of their commitment in terms of facts or time. This means that the initiatives under WE AID either dissolve after a certain period of time (e.g. as soon as the needs from the acute phase of a crisis have been successfully met), or they establish themselves in the long term in their own corporate structures (e.g. as an association or gGmbH).

WE AID either assists in the dissolution or supports the transition into an own non-profit structure. In the latter case, WE AID transfers all remaining assets to a newly created structure.

In principle, there is nothing against setting up comparable structures yourself, but with WE AID it is easier and, above all, it is much faster, so that, for example, the foundation period can be bridged.

How do I become part of WE AID with my initiative? Contact us!

Basically, all private individuals, initiatives, organizations or companies who want to get involved in acute aid can contact WE AID and ask for support. Then a process starts that should lead to the initiative joining under the umbrella of WE AID.

To do this, WE AID checks whether the planned activities are fundamentally non-profit and whether committed people are behind them. Then the initiative goes as quickly as possible to the WE AID website.

With which services does WE AID support your initiatives? With administrative services and legal advice, expertise and network

WE AID takes over all administrative services for the initiatives, in particular the ongoing financial accounting (payroll accounting as required), legal advice, especially with regard to non-profit law in Germany, as well as all annual financial statement work. We also support you with our experience and our network.

As soon as it is included under the umbrella of WE AID, the initiative gets access to the administrative structures (e.g. digital accounting), to the financial structures (e.g. regular short-term reporting on incoming donations) and can fulfill legal obligations on behalf of WE AID (e.g. domain purchase and website hosting). Everything in each case is limited to our own initiative and assets. We are always working on this to make this process as uncomplicated as possible.

What rights and obligations do the individual initiatives have? The operational business is in the hands of the initiative

The managers of the initiatives assume operational responsibility for their activities. The management of WE AID supervises the work of the initiatives and ensures that the general charitable conditions are observed. The German non-profit law offers a secure framework for all participants to help together and in confidence.

The initiatives under the umbrella of WE AID are obliged to report on their activities at least once a year — in the form of a short factual report. A consolidated annual report is published by WE AID.

Can donations and grants be accepted through WE AID and can money be spent again? Yes

WE AID enables financial support from donors to the initiatives and can issue donation receipts. WE AID collects the donations for and with the purpose of the initiatives' activities. WE AID can also accept international donations against donation receipts. The common payment methods can be used, i.e. bank transfer (SWIFT), direct debit, PayPal including credit card payment. WE AID would also like to be able to accept crypto donations via BaFin-regulated institutional wallets in the future; we are currently working on that. For this purpose, WE AID is working together with Finoa. WE AID can also accept donations in kind. At the current time, WE AID does not accept any government donations.

The charitable funds received can also be spent again directly via WE AID as part of the initiatives' charitable activities. This concerns both necessary material expenses and the covering of personnel costs — both on a fee basis and in a project-limited employment relationship subject to social security contributions, both nationally and internationally. No expenses are to be paid with cash through WE AID.
In addition, WE AID may at any time transfer the charitable funds in whole or in part to other charitable organizations, insofar as they can adopt the same earmarking.

What is the connection between the different initiatives under the umbrella of WE AID? Each initiative acts on its own, but together we are stronger

All the initiatives act completely independently of each other. They are accountable only directly to WE AID's management. The initiatives have their own budgets and enter into their own collaborations or other contractual relationships as needed. In this way, each initiative can pursue and implement its goals independently of the others.

At the same time, an exchange of network, knowledge, and experience is desirable. WE AID supports this exchange of knowledge and experience via the platform, helps to build networks and make civil society commitment even more effective.

Who is WE AID? We also work on a non-profit basis

With WE AID, we ourselves are still a young non-profit organization, which was founded by PHINEO at the beginning of the Russian invasion of Ukraine. We are building our current structures according to your needs and at the same time can rely on the experience and network of PHINEO.

We are currently able to offer our services on a donation basis, thanks to the generous support of our helpers and supporters. We also work with partners on a pro bono basis. In this way, WE AID contributes to the independent implementation of civil society activities and thus to strengthening social commitment.

The sole shareholder of WE AID gGmbH is PHINEO AG, which is also a non-profit organization. PHINEO's vision is an open, sustainable and peaceful society in which doing good with impact guides collective action. As a non-profit platform, PHINEO strengthens strategic social commitment.

The management of WE AID, Christian Berger (Member of the Executive Board at PHINEO) and Jan Strecker (Head of Strategic Cooperations at PHINEO), hold this position on a voluntary basis. Furthermore, we are supported in our work by Alina Nosenko, also Head of the Strategic Cooperations department at PHINEO and Ukrainian herself. The entire PHINEO team regularly contributes sector expertise and network.

Ecovis NRW is a WE AID pro bono partner. Ecovis takes over the classic administrative services such as daily financial accounting, ongoing tax audits of activities and financial reporting as well as the year-end closing work. Together, PHINEO and Ecovis provide legal advice and ongoing reviews of non-profit issues.

WE AID's structures and working methods are regularly reviewed and, if necessary, further developed. Our mission always remains the same: WE AID offers a professional, non-profit organizational structure on a temporary basis and thus enables private initiatives to implement their non-profit commitment in the context of crisis emergency aid within a few days.

© 2022 WE AID

FAQ

Was macht We Aid? Wir ermöglichen Engagement

WE AID bietet eine professionelle, gemeinnützige Organisationsstruktur auf Zeit und ermöglicht damit privaten Initiativen die Umsetzung ihres gemeinnützigen Engagements innerhalb weniger Tage.

In humanitären Krisen, ob in Kriegen, bei Fluten oder Hungersnöten, geht es um spontane und schnelle Hilfe, die sofort bei den Betroffenen ankommen soll. WE AID ermöglicht es Menschen und Unternehmen, die sich in akuten Krisensituationen wie momentan im Zuge des russischen Angriffs auf die Ukraine sozial engagieren möchten, genau das: Wir bieten einen rechtlich sicheren Rahmen, um sofort loszulegen.

WE AID bietet neu gegründeten Initiativen die gesamte gemeinnützige Struktur, die es braucht um Spenden einzunehmen und Geld auszugeben, um die Buchhaltung und Kontoführung zu organisieren und den Anforderungen des Finanzamtes dabei gerecht zu werden. Und wir bieten unserer Erfahrung und Netzwerk.

Wer bisher wenig oder keine Erfahrungen mit gemeinnützigen Strukturen hat, wird sehr schnell feststellen, dass man sie eben nicht von heute auf morgen aufbauen kann, sondern das Zeit und Sachkenntnis fordert. We Aid hat die nötige Struktur schon geschaffen und stellt sie kurzfristig zur Verfügung.

Denn das ist unsere Mission: WE AID ermöglicht Engagement, das möglicherweise nicht stattfinden würde, weil geeignete Strukturen fehlen.

Mit WE AID sind wir selbst eine noch junge gemeinnützige Organisation, die mit Beginn des Überfalls auf die Ukraine durch PHINEO gegründet wurde. Wir bauen unsere aktuellen Strukturen nach Euren Bedarfen auf und können gleichzeitig auf die Erfahrungen und das Netzwerk von PHINEO zurückgreifen.

Warum sollte ich nicht lieber selbst eine gemeinnützige Organisation gründen? Weil es über WE AID schneller geht und einfacher ist

Wer sich im Angesicht von Krisen engagieren möchte, will sofort anfangen, will die spontane Hilfsbereitschaft nutzen, die viele Menschen dann zeigen, und will Hilfen schnell dort hinbringen, wo sie dringend gebraucht werden. WE AID ermöglicht genau das.

WE AID ist dabei als Brückenstruktur für Initiativen gedacht – für Engagierte, die bisher keine oder wenig Erfahrung mit gemeinnützigen Strukturen haben, diese selbst nicht aufbauen möchten oder ihr Engagement sachlich oder zeitlich begrenzt denken. Das bedeutet, dass sich die Initiativen unter WE AID entweder nach einer gewissen Zeit auflösen (bspw. sobald der Bedarf aus der Akutphase einer Krise erfolgreich bedient wurden), oder sie etablieren sich langfristig in eigenen gesellschaftsrechtlichen Strukturen (bspw. als Verein oder gGmbH).

WE AID hilft entweder bei der Auflösung oder unterstützt beim Übergang in eine eigene gemeinnützige Struktur. WE AID überträgt im letzteren Falle alle noch vorhandenen Vermögenswerte auf eine neu geschaffene Struktur.

Grundsätzlich spricht nichts dagegen vergleichbare Strukturen auch selbst aufzubauen, mit WE AID ist es allerdings einfacher und vor allem geht es sehr viel schneller, sodass bspw. die Gründungszeit überbrückt werden kann.

Wie werde ich mit meiner Initiative Teil von WE AID? Sprecht uns an!

Grundsätzlich können alle Privatpersonen, Initiativen, Organisationen oder Unternehmen, die sich in der Akuthilfe engagieren wollen, WE AID ansprechen und um Unterstützung bitten. Dann startet ein Prozess, der zum Beitritt der Initiative unter dem Dach von WE AID führen soll.

Dafür überprüft WE AID, ob die geplanten Aktivitäten grundsätzlich gemeinnützig sind und engagierte Menschen dahinterstehen. Danach geht es so schnell wie möglich auf die Webseite von WE AID.

Mit welchen Leistungen unterstützt We Aid Eure Initiativen? Mit Verwaltungsleistungen und Rechtsberatung, Expertise und Netzwerk

WE AID übernimmt alle Verwaltungsleistungen für die Initiativen, das betrifft insbesondere die laufende Finanzbuchhaltung (Lohnbuchhaltung nach Bedarf), die Rechtsberatung, insbesondere in Hinblick auf das Gemeinnützigkeitsrecht in Deutschland, sowie vollumfänglich alle Jahresabschlussarbeiten. Wir unterstützen außerdem mit unserer Erfahrung und unserem Netzwerk.

Die Initiative bekommt, sobald sie unter dem Dach von WE AID aufgenommen ist, Zugriff auf die Verwaltungsstrukturen (bspw. digitalen Belegführung), auf die Finanzstrukturen (bspw. regelmäßiges kurzfristig Reporting über Spendeneingänge) und kann im Namen von WE AID rechtliche Verpflichtungen (bspw. Domainkauf und Hosting von Webseiten) eingehen. Alles jeweils auf die eigene Initiative und Vermögenswerte beschränkt. Hieran arbeiten auch wir immer weiter, um diese Prozesse so unkompliziert wie möglich zu gestalten.

Welche Rechte und Pflichten haben die einzelnen Initiativen? Das operative Geschäft liegt in Händen der Initiative

Die Verantwortlichen der Initiativen übernehmen operative Verantwortung für ihre Tätigkeiten. Die Geschäftsführung von WE AID beaufsichtigt die Arbeit der Initiativen und stellt sicher, dass die gemeinnützigen Rahmenbedingungen eingehalten werden. Da deutsche Gemeinnützigkeitsrecht bietet allen Beteiligten einen sicheren Rahmen, um gemeinsam und vertrauensvoll zu helfen.

Die Initiativen unter dem Dach von WE AID sind verpflichtet, über ihre Tätigkeiten mindestens auf Jahresbasis – im Sinne eines kurzen Sachberichtes – zu informieren. Ein konsolidierter Jahresbericht wird durch WE AID veröffentlicht.

Können über WE AID Spenden und Zuwendungen angenommen werden und Geld wieder ausgegeben werden? Ja

WE AID ermöglicht die finanzielle Unterstützung durch Spender*innen an die Initiativen und kann Spendenbescheinigungen ausstellen. WE AID vereinnahmt die Spenden für und mit dem Zweck der Aktivitäten der Initiativen. WE AID kann auch internationale Zuwendungen gegen Zuwendungsbestätigungen annehmen. Dabei können die gängigen Zahlungsmethoden genutzt werden, das heißt Banküberweisung (SWIFT), Lastschrift, Paypal inkl. Kreditkartenzahlung. Ebenfalls möchte WE AID zukünftig Kryptospenden über BaFin regulierte institutionelle Wallets annehmen können; daran arbeiten wir aktuell. Dazu arbeitet WE AID mit Finoa zusammen. WE AID kann auch Sachspenden annehmen. Zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt nimmt WE AID keine Zuwendungen der öffentlichen Hand an.

Die eingegangenen gemeinnützigen Gelder können direkt über WE AID im Rahmen der gemeinnützigen Tätigkeit der Initiativen auch wieder ausgegeben werden. Das betrifft sowohl notwendige Sachausgaben als auch die Deckung von Personalkosten – sowohl auf Honorarkostenbasis, als auch im projektbefristeten sozialversicherungspflichtigen Anstellungsverhältnis, sowohl national wie international. Über WE AID sollen keine Ausgaben mit Bargeld beglichen werden.

Darüber hinaus kann WE AID die gemeinnützigen Mittel jederzeit ganz oder anteilig an andere gemeinnützige Organisationen weiterleiten, insofern diese die gleiche Zweckbindung übernehmen können.

In welche Verbindung stehen die verschiedenen Initiativen unter dem Dach von WE AID zueinander? Jede Initiative handelt für sich, aber gemeinsam sind wir stärker

Die jeweiligen Initiativen agieren vollständig unabhängig voneinander. Sie sind ausschließlich unmittelbar der Geschäftsführung von WE AID rechenschaftspflichtig. Die Initiativen verfügen über ihre eigenen Budgets, die eingeworben wurden, und schließen bei Bedarf eigene Kooperationen oder andere Vertragsbeziehungen ab. Auf diese Weise kann jede Initiative unabhängig von den anderen ihre Ziele verfolgen und umsetzen.

Gleichzeitig ist ein Austausch von Netzwerk, Wissen und Erfahrungen wünschenswert. WE AID unterstützt über die Plattform diesen Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch, hilft Netzwerke aufzubauen und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement noch effektiver zu gestalten.

Wer ist We Aid? Auch wir arbeiten gemeinnützig

Mit WE AID sind wir selbst eine noch junge gemeinnützige Organisation, die mit Beginn des Überfalls auf die Ukraine durch PHINEO gegründet wurde. Wir bauen unsere aktuellen Strukturen nach Euren Bedarfen auf und können gleichzeitig auf die Erfahrungen und das Netzwerk von PHINEO zurückgreifen.

Unser Angebot können wir aktuell, dank der großzügigen Unterstützung unserer Helfer und Förderer, spendenbasiert anbieten. Dabei arbeiten wir auch mit Partnern auf pro bono Basis zusammen. WE AID leistet so einen Beitrag zur selbstständigen Verwirklichung von zivilgesellschaftlichen Aktivitäten und damit zur Stärkung des gesellschaftlichen Engagements.

Alleinige Gesellschafterin der WE AID gGmbH ist die ebenfalls gemeinnützige PHINEO gAG. Die Vision von PHINEO ist eine offene, nachhaltige und friedliche Gesellschaft, in der Gutes tun mit Wirkung das gemeinsame Handeln leitet. Als gemeinnützige Plattform stärkt PHINEO strategisches gesellschaftliches Engagement.

Die Geschäftsführung, Christian Berger (Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung bei PHINEO) und Jan Strecker (Leitung des Bereichs Strategische Kooperationen bei PHINEO), nehmen dieses Amt ehrenamtlich wahr. Weiterhin werden wir von Alina Nosenko, ebenfalls Leitung des Bereichs Strategische Kooperationen bei PHINEO und selbst Ukrainerin, in unserer Arbeit unterstützt. Unsere Projektleiter Nataliia Fiebrig und David Juriš übernehmen das operative Tagesgeschehen. Zusätzlich bringt das gesamte PHINEO Team regelmäßig Sektor-Expertise und Netzwerk ein.

Pro Bono Partner von WE AID ist Ecovis NRW. Ecovis übernimmt die klassischen Verwaltungsdienstleistungen wie tagesaktuelle Finanzbuchhaltung, fortlaufende steuerliche Prüfung der Tätigkeiten und Finanzberichterstattung sowie die Jahresabschlussarbeiten. Gemeinsam übernehmen PHINEO und Ecovis die Rechtsberatung und laufende Überprüfung bezüglich gemeinnützigkeitsrechtlicher Fragestellungen.

Die Strukturen und Arbeitsweisen von WE AID werden regelmäßig überprüft und bei Bedarf weiterentwickelt. Unsere Mission bleibt dabei immer: WE AID bietet eine professionelle, gemeinnützige Organisationsstruktur auf Zeit und ermöglicht damit privaten Initiativen die Umsetzung ihres gemeinnützigen Engagements im Rahmen der Krisen-Nothilfe innerhalb weniger Tage.

© 2022 WE AID